668 ~ Week 3

EQ:  How different is your current classroom from the one in which you learned when you were a student?

I graduated from a tiny church Virginia high school in 1992. We had one computer that was only used for special projects like a typing program and the year book. I loved the limited time that I had on the personal computer. This positive experience created a desire to learn more about the technology. I tried taking college classes right out of high school, but that did not work for me. It would be another fifteen years before attempting to take college classes again. The teaching style in high school was one level of teacher centric approach. I struggled with Dyslexia and not being challenged with the basic level classes.

 

Facts that were relative to my high school error, according to the group paper from St. Mary College:

  • From the information gathered we have found that most people who left school before 1990 had no computers in their schools.
  • Teachers who left school during the 1990’s all had at least 15 computers in their school.
  • Though many who left school during the 1980s had more TVs than those in the 1990s.
  • Nearly all teachers said that the biggest change in schools since they attended is the wide-spread use of technology throughout the school.
  • The oldest person we interviewed left school in 1994.
  • The youngest person we interviewed left school in 1998.
  • The oldest piece of technological equipment used in a school was a radio.
  • More than half of the people asked said there were between 25-30 people in their class. Everyone else said that there were 30+ people in their class.

 

This is a comparable PC that I used in high school

pc

 

I started classes again at a community college in San Diego, CA and I did great. I made the dean’s list four semesters in a row. My degree plan was Computer Science, so I was exposed to the latest programs and hardware. I loved working on the databases Access software and basic programming classes. The approach was still teacher centered at this time.

Today of course, I still take classes. The approach now is changing to student focused. We have surveys and other assessments to ensure that we are learning the way we need to. I like that instructors have open office hours and lab sessions to ensure that we have access to our teachers when needed.

 

Sources:

Thomas, Douglas; Seely Brown, John. A New Culture of Learning: Cultivating the Imagination for a World of Constant Change

Martin, Jim. (2015, Jul 30). 1995-2015: How technology has changed the world in 20 years. Retrieved Feb 3, 2017 from: http://www.techadvisor.co.uk/opinion/windows/how-technology-has-changed-world-in-20-years/

St Mary College: C., Caitlin, S., Caitlin, D., Jenna, D., Megan. How Technology in schools has changed in the past Century? Retrieved Feb 3, 2017 from: http://www.stmarysderry.com/?page_id=1837

Ledesman, Patrick. (2010, Nov 29). 25 Years of Computers in Education: What Has Changed? Retrieved Feb 3, 2017 from: http://blogs.edweek.org/teachers/leading_from_the_classroom/2010/11/as_black_friday_and_cybermonday.html

 

4 thoughts on “668 ~ Week 3

  1. Hi Josie,
    It is great that you found your niche in computer science! I struggled in reading when I was in elementary school. The teachers that I had were using the whole language approach and it wasn’t until 3rd grade when my teacher used the phonetic language that I actually understood what was going on. I didn’t realize there was such a debate until I was looking up 1990’s reading instruction. Thankfully, there are now balanced reading programs we can use with our students. Although, I’m sure people will continue to always debate the “right” way of teaching ! 🙂

    Like

    1. I’m curious what you teach now? It is fascinating the rapid change in technology in education the last 20 years. I think it is great you have found such an interest in it even though your upbringing didn’t involve it.

      Like

  2. One of my earliest career decisions was made when I was a sophomore in college. I had a choice to be admitted in a “new” degree program, statistics, or stay in math education. I remember asking myself, “When am I going to use statistics?” How naive!!! I have learned to not regret any decision in my life, and my path has led me here. Not bad, but I still wonder… That is great that you focused on your love of computer science. That is one reason I’m in the Tech program at UAS. I think there is viable use of technology in the classroom. One frustration for me is that there are too many students that use technology (smartphones) in non-educational situations, and there are a large proportion of teachers that don’t want to implement technology in the class. Ironic, if you think about it. Why can’t we use this availability of technology to teachers’ benefit? Some do, but unfortunately most don’t. BYOD has great potential. We need to get over the equity issues. We need to provide students with low cost alternatives. Chromebook’s are inexpensive these days, and you wouldn’t need many to allow 1:1 in a school. If we want student-centered, BYOD can do it for us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

