EDET668  Wk4

EQ: What does the way you play have to do with embracing change and how does this impact you as a professional?

When I think of learning through play, I automatically think of young children. They learn through mimicking our actions. They watch us cook, shop and talk on the phone. “Because play is fun, children often become absorbed in what they are doing…which in turns help them develop the ability to concentrate” (Family lives).

play

“Embracing change and seeing information as a resource can help us stop thinking of learning as an isolated process of information absorption and start thinking of it as a cultural and social process of engaging with the constant changing world around us” (2011, Thomas).

Play as our textbook author suggests is more than pretending to bake a cake, it can be an informal setting without textbook or instruction, but still absorbing new information. Tinkering is a term we used in a summer class to describe play. I like that term. Writing computer code, cooking, fixing a car, building a chicken coop – these can all be an informal way of learning, or tinkering.

How do we embrace change through playing or tinkering on a professional level? I think of this as a way that we need to understand how something works and the benefits. We are presented with a change or new way of doing something. We are naturally reluctant to adhere to the new change at work. However, after seeing the benefits (tinkering or playing I think can be inserted here) we are more willing to accept the new change.

If we are presented with new assessment software, we might be too busy to learn it or it might take more clicks to use it. However, when we see that the reporting is better organized and will save us hours of work during report card time – we then love the software because we understand the benefits.

Change is hard for all of us. It can be challenging, intimating and time consuming. When we understand why we need the change, it will be easier to overcome the fear. I loved, loved Windows 7, I am getting use to Windows 10.

 

Sources:

Thomas, D., & Brown, J. (2011). A new culture of learning: Cultivating the imagination for a world of constant change. Douglas Thomas and John Seely Brown.

amily Lives. (n.d.). How children learn through play. Retrieved on Feb 10, 2017 from: http://www.familylives.org.uk/advice/toddler-preschool/learning-play/how-children-learn-through-play/

Barnard, Yvonne, Bradley, Mike D., Hodgson, Frances, and Llyod, Ashley D. (2013, March 22). Learning to use new technologies by older adults: Perceived difficulties, experimentation behaviour and usability. Retrieved on Feb 10, 2017 from: https://www.researchgate.net/publication/257253134_Learning_to_use_new_technologies_by_older_adults_Perceived_difficulties_experimentation_behaviour_and_usability

 

 

4 thoughts on “EDET668  Wk4

  1. I agree with the love for technology or anything comes when we understand how it can actually help us in life, whether through making life easier or saving us a lot of time in our normal daily routines. I tend to get reluctant about new things in life that take time to learn, so I know students do as well unless it’s something like a new video game they have wanted to play for a long time. For instance, when I started taking these classes, weebly was very time consuming. Posts wouldn’t come out correctly or would just randomly delete, it took awhile before I got it figured out, but now that I have it down, even when those things randomly do happen it’s easy to fix because I have take the time to learn the program.

    I like the idea of how tinkering or playing doesn’t have to be formal. It can be as easy as going out and doing something that leads to you learning something new, even if that is just walking down a trail and discovering a flower you have never seen before. In my mind, anyways, this is a form of play because it is something I would enjoy doing and then I would come back and look the flower up in a book to see what it was. I think so many people think of play as something that doesn’t take any brainpower but after reading the New Culture of Reading this week, I would have to disagree. Play is something that can be very constructive and can teach us a lot. When I think of this in terms of technology and the fact that students can be very constructive and learn the skills of problem solving while using their imagination and being creative, I tend to rethink the use of games in the classroom. Last year when I took a class that was based on Minecraft I just couldn’t wrap my head around how it would be beneficial in the classroom. This week has shown me that these games can add a whole new element to the classroom that involves play in a way that meets students where they are at today instead of forcing the idea of play on them that we knew when we were children.

    Like

  2. Really, Windows 7? I had learned to use versions earlier than Windows, like DOS. (I am really old!) If there is one thing I have learned over the years, it is that we need to “adapt or die”. If we live in such a changing climate, it is imperative to change along with it. Assimilation is another term I would like to throw out there and say that it’s important as well. In my other comments, and in blogging, I have stated that I don’t like our current math curriculum. How do you change that? I don’t know. We are teaching 18th century mathematics the 18th century way! (paper/pencil, literally) Yes, we need to embrace change, but how do we do this if we are faced with centuries old traditions? And what makes it more difficult is that fact that I am the minority that feels this way! (among math teachers that I talk to) I was sort of upset about the article about aging people and technology. I embrace technology and the use of it more widely in school and in my personal life. They weren’t talking about ME having hesitation and issues with new technology, but then I think of myself as a rogue radical that wants to do things differently and make people notice. Doesn’t always work. I did have one of my students tell me that I was one of the few “older” teachers that understands and uses technology! I didn’t know what to think about that…

    Like

  3. Hi Josie,
    You are right, knowing the “why” for the change will also help overcome the feelings of fear. Humans are creatures of habit but we can also successfully adapt to our changing environments. We need to adapt more often now with the constant influx of new technology, devices, programs…everything! This can be, as you said, challenging, intimidating and time consuming. I like your play term, to tinker. I see why it is important to tinker with the new “change” so that we can see the benefits of learning something new and eventually accepting it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

