EDET 668 Week 5

EQ: What are your thoughts about “learning in the collective”?

Collective learning is fundamentally a type of learning that happens ‘in the real world’ (Little by Littlejohn, n.d.). I think of this is more informal learning outside of a classroom. Littlejohn provides one examples of learning: Crowdsourcing (which is through social networks). I find this to be a new trendy term. Youtube videos and eHow websites come to mind as well. These are informal sources of learning that anyone can access.

We learn in our textbook the new culture of learning is based on the following three principles: “(1) The old ways of learning are unable to keep up with our rapidly changing world. (2) New media forms are making peer-to-peer learning easier and more natural. (3) Peer-to-peer learning is amplified by emerging technologies that shape the collective nature of participation with those new media” (Thomas and Brown, 2013).
p2p

Peer-to-Peer learning is beneficial in that students are able to comfortable express their ideas to their small group or peer without having to address the entire class. It can be like brainstorming new ideas and how to make them work. This is an ideal situation that can promote critical thinking and team building.

Our mentor projects will provide the mentee the base foundation of learning a certain topic, like me tutoring someone how to use a new Macbook. It is good for him to be able to ask me questions during the interactions. He will become more familiar with the navigation and features. I predict that he will be then able to attend a college class and speak of the navigation with his peers. They will be able to discuss what programs work with which class bests. He will be more comfortable from the mentorship and will be able to confidently speak on how to use his Macbook. I have always thought that it is a positive interaction to see how other people use technology. There is always more than one way to do something. Collective Learning in the real world provides the avenue for informal learning so that we can become familiar with many subjects outside of the classroom.

 

Resources:
Thomas, Douglas & Brown, John Seely. (2013 Apr 18). A New Culture of Learning: Cultivating the Imagination for a World of Constant Change

Lasecki, Walter S., White, Samuel C., Murray, Kyle I., and Bigham, Jeffrey P. (2012). CROWD MEMORY: LEARNING IN THE COLLECTIVE. University of Rochester Department of Computer Science. Retrieved on Feb 16, 2017 from: https://www.cs.rochester.edu/hci/pubs/pdfs/crowd_memory.pdf

Little by Littlejohn. (n.d). Collective Learning examples. Retrieved on Feb 16, 2017 from: http://littlebylittlejohn.com/change11-position-paper/collective-learning-examples/

Towers, Jo, Martin, Lyndon C., and Heater, Brenda. (Sept 2013). Teaching and learning mathematics Behavior. The Journal of Mathematical Behavior. Retrieved on Feb 16, 2017 from: http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0732312313000461

2 thoughts on “EDET 668 Week 5

  1. I agree with you that there are many informal sources of learning. With the advent of the internet, I am shocked that we still have teachers “pour knowledge” to students in a classroom setting. I constantly tell my students that if they really want to learn a topic, they can always do some research online. There are almost unlimited sources for ANY topic. It’s amazing. In fact, I learned about a new method of factoring quadratic equations called Tic-Tac-Toe Method via online video, and currently teach this method to my students cause I think it is a better method than “guess and check” that most textbooks “teach”. We just need to get these kids to get their mind out of the gutter realm of social media cause they just want to share unimportant information (gossip) and post ridiculous images!

    Like

  2. I would agree with you that collective learning as more of an informal learning outside of the classroom. I think I learn better that way when I’m not given a specific topic and can learn at my own pace at my own time. That is why I like these classes, because although we are given a question, it is broad enough that we can all discover different ideas about the topic. We are allowed to research whatever we want, of course besides the chapters Dr. Graham assigns us. I like being given that freedom because I can take the question the way I understand it and it is okay. When I first started these classes, I always felt like my answer was going to be “wrong.” Now that I have taken quite a few, I realize that we all interpret the question differently and because of that we can learn a lot from each other, rather than if we all gave the exact same answer. As I am doing my research, I enjoy having the freedom to read what I want and skip what I think won’t interest me or doesn’t relate to how I am trying to answer the question. I’m glad I didn’t have the internet to the extent of what it is now with social media in high school, but I think I would’ve enjoyed some of the subjects taught if I would’ve had more freedom to research a certain concept without being given the exact content of where I was supposed to retrieve my answer.

    Like

Leave a Reply

