Week 12 – Philosophy of Adaptation

EDET 668 Leadership

Changes ahead

“The most dangerous phrase in the language is: we’ve always done it that way” (Grace Hopper, 1980).

We all have an approach to change, voluntary or not. No matter how many new inventions or gadgets that we think are cool and useful – we all experience resistance to change. However, it is our attitudes in how we deal with the change that counts. We as educators need to welcome the changes that come our way. Technology changes faster than most people can keep up with. Thankfully, we many resources that can help keep us updated to what is relevant to our field.

 

This semester we learned about a new culture of learning through our textbook (Thomas and Brown, 2011). The new movement has shifted focus to what learning actual means and how to implement. The new strategies are evolving because of what we can now do with today’s current technology. Furthermore, how information is created, shared, and used.

Change1

With that said, my philosophy or approach rather to change (or adaption) would be three parts:

 

  1. Be a learner – Ensure that I am updated with current technologies in my field
  2. Be a leader – Ensure that I am supporting the changes that need to happen
  3. Be a facilitator – Ensure that I am supporting my students in the classroom with these new approaches

 

Be a learner

Because of the speed of technology, we need to always be learning new software programs, computers (i.e. tablets), and other hardware. We need to be curious of what is out on the market like 3D printers and how other schools are utilizing the new technologies. A good way to learn about new inventions is through attending Ed camp.

 

Be a leader

We need to be to focus on a few relevant projects (like 3D printers), so that we can confidently speak of the technology and know how to support it. When we have confidence in the new programs, we are able to “sell” the benefits to peer teachers that might be skeptical.

 

I would include the 5 components of leadership (Fullan, 2017): Moral purpose, Understanding the change, Relationship building, Knowledge Creation and Sharing, and finally Coherence making. I think that it is important to include all of these components to get a complete coverage of what it takes to be a good solid leader.

 

Be a facilitator

We need to be able to have a plan on how to implement the new technology (like 3D printers), so that we can use them effectively in the classroom. When we are using current technologies in the classrooms, we are support students while preparing them for the new world. The experience will help them have an advantage over other students that have not had any exposure to new technologies (like 3D printers).

 

Change2

I love technology! I have work experience since 2000. I am well voiced in the field, but I also have my favorites which sometimes can create a biased opinion. However, I do have an open mind as well. When I see how something works and the benefits, I can quickly be won over. Therefore, my personal vision statement would be to be able to give an expert technology assessment for my peers and students. I would be able to give a rating for usability and risk that is valuable. I would be able to inspire with a growth mindset the change for the technology because I would also be able to explain both to my peers and my students the benefits from their angles.

 

 

Sources:

Burgess, D. (2012). Teach Like a Pirate: Increase Student Engagement, Boost your Creativity, and Transform your Life as an Educator.

Thomas, D. & Brown, J. S. (2011). A New Culture of Learning: Cultivating the Imagination for a World of Constant Change

Williamson, Alice. (2014, Aug). Grace Hopper. Retrieved on May 4, 2017 from: http://www.quotabelle.com/author/grace-hopper

Fullan, Michael. Date. Leading in a Culture of Change. Retrieved on March 2, 2017 from: http://egandb.uas.alaska.edu:2081/lib/uasoutheast/reader.action?ppg=17&docID=10842273&tm=1444680173430

 

 

Leave a Reply

